Clearing Out the Cobwebs

This is the time of year I like to call “the running of the spiders”.  All of a sudden, we find spiders and webs all over the house, and it seems as if they appear almost overnight. Occasionally, we’re greeted by a rather stealthy wolf spider darting across the floor in search of prey in the late evening or early morning. I give the spiders a 2 minute warning to clear out and take their business outside or move to a back corner in the basement, but if I find them in other spaces of the house, they’ll be cleaned up. (I also warn them that my hubby won’t even give them the 2 minute warning…)

The running of the spiders is a sure sign that we’re transitioning to fall, and a reminder that I need to clean up those corners and prepare for the coming winter. Those cobwebs that are hanging about remind me of things I need to complete while it’s still warm, as well as old things I need to clear out. As nature slows down and prepares for the cooling season, it’s time for me to align my energy as well and clear out the old so that my cold weather habitat is clean and comfortable and has everything I need. It will be awful crowded in here come wintertime if I still have summer stuff out and about!

Besides the need to clean up my physical space, there is a need to readjust my habits and mental space. The slow-paced days of summer have come to an end, and my family has moved into the frenzy of fall. Scheduling is much tighter and it becomes easier to get sucked into feeling the pressure of many activities and being pulled in many ways. It helps me to remember that nothing in nature hurries, but it all gets done anyway. Bringing my attention to one thing at a time allows me to properly take care of everything as it comes.

As for those cobwebs, today I get out the vacuum. The spiders have been warned, and I’m cleaning out what’s left behind from summer that’s no longer needed and clearing the path for what’s to come. As I clean, I’ll release any regrets of what I didn’t do or didn’t finish, forgive myself and others for any mistakes, and breathe in the freshness of the fall air to welcome in its gifts.

Here’s wishing you the courage to clear out the cobwebs of the past and allow the freshness of fall to fill your homes and hearts…

Love & Light,

Sue

About earthgrl

Herbalist, Naturalist, and Reiki Master posts her observations, musings, and hard-earned wisdom about the natural world and how it speaks to our spirit and heals us, inside and out.
This entry was posted in Nature Notes, Spirit Speak. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

