Roots, Shoots, Blossoms, & Fruits – A Year in the Yard

Earthly Greetings, my friends! This blog has been dormant for some time, sitting in darkness like a seed hunkered down for the winter, waiting for the right time to break through the seed coat and become what it was always meant to be.

This post marks the birth of a new project, and this blog is just the right space to hold this adventure-in-the-works.  🙂

One morning a few weeks ago, I woke up with the above title in my head. With it, came the vision of a year-long pictorial blog where I share photos, observations, and experiences about my changing yard and the local wild areas as we move through the seasons.

My goal is to document the transition of our natural world throughout the year. I’m also working on transforming my yard into a wildlife habitat (for more info, see Delaware Nature Society), so some of that transition may appear here, and I’m sure that my beloved medicinal plants will be regular guests.

Ideally, I will post weekly, but I have learned that when dealing with Nature, I am clearly not in charge. My role is to be a good listener and then share. Mother Nature will be sure to let me know what she wants to say and when.  😉

This should be quite an adventure, and the journey is open for all who wish to travel with me! You can simply read along throughout the year (click on the “Follow” button at the top to be notified by email when I post something new) or perhaps you’ll hear the call of the wild yourself and want to have your own Year in the Yard adventure.

Meanwhile, here’s a little something to enjoy till I get started in January. Enjoy the rest of 2014 and I’ll see you soon!

WCC Dec 2014

White Clay Creek, Newark, DE

Greenly blessings,

Sue

About earthgrl

Herbalist, Naturalist, and Reiki Master posts her observations, musings, and hard-earned wisdom about the natural world and how it speaks to our spirit and heals us, inside and out.
This entry was posted in Nature Notes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

