A Year in the Yard – March Madness

March madness is upon us, and I’m not talking about any kind of sports-ball.

Canada GeeseGeese are sailing through the skies in large numbers, announcing their return loudly and proudly, pausing to forage in open fields. Robins are flocking to the last of the winter berries and searching for worms under snow melt, while blackbirds fill the trees with their raucous chorus. Icicles gain length daily as they thaw and re-freeze, and creeks are cracking their frozen blankets. Spring is sneaking in, despite continued temperatures below freezing.

When 35 degrees feels warm to me and I open windows to air out the house, I know I’m starting to go a little mad myself, itching to move free and cast off my winter coat.

Tree budMy yard is still covered in snow, but I can see ground ivy and Indian strawberry peeking through in a few places. Sap is rising, there are buds on trees and shrubs, and the promise of spring is in the air, carried on the birds’ sweet songs. Mammals are mating, and all kinds of things are going on underground in preparation for the active season.

In my desperation for growing greens, on Friday I went through the seed packets I ordered and determined which ones I could start. In the past, I grew tomatoes and peppers in containers from young plants. This year, I got the urge to dive into a bigger garden and start from scratch. My daughter and I drooled over the Whole Seed Catalog from Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds, our eyes filled with glorious photos of colorful peppers and vibrant greens. We were hungry for vitality, and with highlighters in hand, marked everything we wanted to try – way more than we could possibly grow this first year. I pared down the list, placed my order, and the seeds came quickly. Then I popped over to Horizon Herbs for some medicinal herb seeds.

Seeds

GreenhouseI  bought a small greenhouse for indoor/outdoor use, as I have a curious cat who likes to nibble small green shoots and needed vertical space for starting seeds. The greenhouse was easy to set up and I’m happy with it so far. I’m sure this gardening adventure will be filled with lots of “learning opportunities”, and I hopefully anticipate the birth of sprouts in the next couple weeks, with more planting to follow as we get closer to that frost-free date.

Here’s a little of the beauty of our region over the past couple weeks…

Though we may sit in the bonds of a winter storm today, I hold out hope as the forecast includes climbing temperatures this week. It looks to be pretty wet with rain and snow melt, so consider your footwear carefully.

Winter is starting to get weary. She will soon give up her snowy mantle to the carpets of green, yellow, and purple. If we are quiet, we can hear Spring’s song whispering in the wind…she’s blowing in…and with it, movement and growth that will gain momentum as we roll through March and into April. Breathe deep, nourish your dreams, and be kind to your body, mind, and spirit as we move through this time of transition.

Till next time…

Greenly blessings,

Sue

About earthgrl

Herbalist, Naturalist, and Reiki Master posts her observations, musings, and hard-earned wisdom about the natural world and how it speaks to our spirit and heals us, inside and out.
This entry was posted in Nature Notes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

